The museum is located in the city centre – in the firefighters building which is known as the Estonian manifest of limestone architecture and was built in 1937 after H Johanson`s project. The building comprises an extraordinary 32 m high drying tower for hoses.
The museum is open Tue - Fri 10 am - 5pm upon agreement. Guide service, museum lessons and pupil programmes by pre-order.
The Museum founded in 1974, introduces the past and present of firefighting as well as firefighting regulation and technics. The permament exhibition expresses the history of firefighters from 1862 to 1940. The most eye-catching item on exposition is a hand squirt, bought in 1808 by the firefighting commando of the Brotherhood of the Blackheads. Visitors are also welcome to watch historical films of firefigting. A special role in the museum is played by the precious metal collection, which is one of the richest among other state museums. A model of a living house, where light signals direct attention to 27 different reasons for fire damage, has attracted great interest among the younger generation. Models of firefighting stadiums and fire stations are exhibited as well. Other items on exhibition include the protective clothing and uniforms of firefighters as well as the medals and flags of various firefighting organisations. In agreement with the museum visitors can also become asquainted with modern salvage technics.
In the southern part of the Old Town of Tallinn, between the Town Hall Square and the Toompea Hill, stands St. Nicholas’ Church. The former church today houses the Niguliste Museum, one of the branches of the Art Museum of Estonia. The exposition of ecc...
Tallink Tennis Centre of 14 500 square metres has 14 tennis courts, 10 badminton courts, 3 group training areas, a large gym and several other visitor and personnel areas.
Tennis and badminton enthusiasts will be pleasantly surprised ...