The tower Kiek in de Kök together with the passages of the Ingrian and Swedish bastions is an exciting part of Tallinn historical fortifications.
The exhibition of “Kiek in de Kök and Bastion Passages” reopened in March 2010 takes the visitor to a time journey that begins in 1219 and offers experience, information and entertainment. With the help of innovative video- and sound-effects and means of multimedia the birth and evolution of Tallinn, the history of town fortifications and the most significant military events are introduced to the visitor.
The time train in the bastion passages takes the tourist to 2219. The other part of the passage display concentrates on the history of the passages.
The cafe on the uppermost floor of the tower offers magnificent views of the upper town Toompea, the lower town and the harbour.
The former salt storage, where the Museum of Estonian Architecture is located today, is a grand limestone structure in Tallinn’s Rotermanni Quarter. This is the place for lovers of art and architecture. Here you’ll have the opportunity to get acquainted...
Anton Hansen Tammsaare Museum is situated in a summer-cottage-type house in Kadriorg, formerly a suburb. The Estonian literary classic Anton Hansen Tammsaare (1878-1940) lived in this apartment in 1932-1940 and died here. His widow Käthe Hansen wished t...
In the southern part of the Old Town of Tallinn, between the Town Hall Square and the Toompea Hill, stands St. Nicholas’ Church. The former church today houses the Niguliste Museum, one of the branches of the Art Museum of Estonia. The exposition of ecc...