The UT History Museum showcases the history of science and university education in Tartu from the 17th century to the present day.
The museum is located on Toome Hill, which has also been poetically described as an abode of the muses. Here the museum occupies several historical university buildings dating from the 19th century - the former university library built in the choir of the ruins of a former dome cathedral, the Old Observatory and part of the Old Anatomical Theatre (closed due to renovation, opening date unknown).
The museum offers the public a permanent exhibition and numerous special exhibitions. From spring to autumn, visitors can enjoy a magnificent view of the city from the viewing platforms situated on the top of the preserved bases of the cathedral’s towers.
The museum’s collection, which is one of a kind in Estonia, is available to scholars and researchers. The museum’s White Hall is one of the most prestigious event venues in Tartu.
The University of Tartu History Museum is part of a larger university institution - Museums of the University of Tartu, which also includes the university’s Art Museum and Natural History Museum. All three cooperate closely with one another.
Location: Suur tee 25, Kolkja alevik, Peipsiääre vald, Tartumaa, 60306
Peipsimaa Visitors Centre is situated in the village of Kolkja in Tartu County - home to the Russian Old Believers.
Visitors are offered a variety of active recreational packages in association with companies in the area, traditional handicraft works...
The Botanical Garden of the University of Tartu was founded in 1803, near what is now the Vanemuine Old Theatre House. In 1806 the garden was relocated to more suitable site, on the ruins of the ancient city wall and fortifications near the river ...