The museum is located in the city centre – in the firefighters building which is known as the Estonian manifest of limestone architecture and was built in 1937 after H Johanson`s project. The building comprises an extraordinary 32 m high drying tower for hoses.
The museum is open Tue - Fri 10 am - 5pm upon agreement. Guide service, museum lessons and pupil programmes by pre-order.
The Museum founded in 1974, introduces the past and present of firefighting as well as firefighting regulation and technics. The permament exhibition expresses the history of firefighters from 1862 to 1940. The most eye-catching item on exposition is a hand squirt, bought in 1808 by the firefighting commando of the Brotherhood of the Blackheads. Visitors are also welcome to watch historical films of firefigting. A special role in the museum is played by the precious metal collection, which is one of the richest among other state museums. A model of a living house, where light signals direct attention to 27 different reasons for fire damage, has attracted great interest among the younger generation. Models of firefighting stadiums and fire stations are exhibited as well. Other items on exhibition include the protective clothing and uniforms of firefighters as well as the medals and flags of various firefighting organisations. In agreement with the museum visitors can also become asquainted with modern salvage technics.
Location: Estonia pst. 4, Kesklinn, Tallinn, Harjumaa, 10148
Estonian National Opera opened a brand new restaurant that charms with its classy theatrical atmosphere and beautiful location in the heart of the city. “Estonia” restaurant welcomes all theatre and food gourmands, offering classical European cuisine, f...
Estonian Children's Literature Centre is located in a fairytalelike house in the old town of Tallinn. It is a home for children's books.
In the house there are a gallery of Edgar Valter, a library, illustration galleries, a treasure c...